Revenue Administration

Prior to the formation of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960, Nagpur district was a part of Central Provinces and Berar province with Nagpur city enjoying the status of capital city from 1947 to 1956. The need for planned development of the city was felt at that time, as the existing Municipal Committee was not equipped to undertake such a gigantic task nor did it have the ability to generate the necessary funds. With this view. The Nagpur Improvement Trust was formed by enacting Nagpur Improvement Trust Act, 1936. Actual functioning of Nagpur Improvement Trust started in the year 1937. The goal set before the Nagpur Improvement Trust was, to develop new areas within the city of Nagpur to cater to the needs of the growing population.

Nagpur city is administered by Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) which is a democratically elected civic governing body. Nagpur Improvement Trust (NIT) works with NMC and carries out works like development of the civic infrastructure and new urban areas on behalf of NMC. The city is divided in 10 zones which are in turn divided into 145 wards. Each ward is represented by a corporator, majority of whom are elected in local elections.

Smaller Urban areas in the district are governed by Municipal councils. There are 10 Municipal Councils in Nagpur district. Viz. Kamptee, Umred, Katol, Narkhed, Kalmeshwar, Ramtek, Khapa, Mohpa and Mowad.

The district has been divided into fourteen tahsils for the purpose of administrative conveyance namely Nagpur Urban, Nagpur Rural, Hingna, Kamptee, Katol, Narkhed, Saoner, Kalmeshwar, Ramtek, Parseoni, Mauda, Umred, Bhiwapur, and Kuhi with thirteen Panchayat samities.

For rural areas Nagpur Zilla Parishad is a local government body at the district level.. It looks after the administration of the rural area of the district and its office is located at the district headquarters. There are 13 Panchayat Samities in Nagpur district that act as link between Gram Panchayat and Zilla Parishad. There are 776 Gram panchayats in the district which are the foundation of the Panchayat System.

Nagpur is headquarters of national level scientific and governmental establishments like the National Environmental Engineering Research Institute (NEERI), the Central Institute of Cotton Research (CICR), the National Research Centre for Citrus, the National Bureau of Soil Survey and Land Use Planning, the Jawaharlal Nehru National Aluminum Research and Development Centre, and the Petroleum And Explosives Safety Organisation (PESO) (formerly known as Department of Explosives).

Nagpur is also the home of National Academy of Direct Taxes (N.A.D.T.) where officers of Revenue Services are trained and National Academy of Defense Production (N.A.D.P), where officers of ordnance factories are trained.

Nagpur is an important city for the Indian armed forces. Sitabuldi fort is home to Indian Army’s 118th infantry battalion. The city is the headquarters of Maintenance Command of Indian Air Force. The Indian Army’s ordnance factory and staff college are located in the western part of the city. Nagpur’s suburb Kamptee has cantonment of Regimental center of Indian Army’s Brigade made up of National Cadet Corps’ Officers’ Training School, Institute of Military Law and other establishments. Nagpur’s National Civil Defense College provides civil defence and disaster management training to pupils from all over India and abroad. Indian Air Force’s giant IL-76 transport planes nicknamed “Gajraj” are also based in Nagpur.

  • Organizational tree of collectorate


  • Officers in collectorate and their duties.
Designation Phone No
Collector 2564973 / 2541511
Addl. Collector. 2565130
Addl. Collector,U.L.C. 2560889
Res. Dy. Collector 2565976
Dy.Collector, (Revenue) 2565049
Dy. Collector (Election) 2541832
Dy. Collector  (LAO- VIDC 1) 2561763
Dy. Collector (LAO- VIDC 2 ) 2560487
Dy. Collector  (LAO- VIDC 3) 2543929
Dy. Collector (LAO-PP-2) 2562968/2562973
Dy. Collector (LAO MIW) 2562968/2562974
Dy. Collector  (LAO- General) 2562968/2562972
Dy. Collector (LAO-ZP Work) 2562968/2562973
Dy. Collector (LAO KNP) 2562968/2562976
Dy. Collector (Reception) 2565092
Dy. Collector  (Resettlement) 2562968/2562972
Dy. Collector ( EGS ) 2562968/2562975
Dy. Collector ( LAO-PP1 ) 2562968
(Dist.Planning Officer) 2560071
(Dist.Supply Officer) 2561106
( F. D.O. 1 ) 2565521
( F. D.O. 2 ) 2561363
(SDO Nagpur) 2560048
(SDO Umred ) 07116- 242177
(SDO Ramtek) 07114-255302
(SDO Saoner ) 07113-232275
(SDO Katol ) 07112 – 222970
Asst. Director, Small Saving, Nagpur 2562907
Mining Officer, Nagpur 2562972
Project Officer,Local Fund, Nagpur 2562198
District Informatics Officer NIC, Nagpur 2544415
Superintendent, Collectorate 2562972
Tahsildar, Nagpur City 2561975
Tahsildar, Nagpur Rural 2564577
Tasildar, Sanjay Gandhi Yojna (NMC) 2562968
Tasildar, Sanjay Gandhi Yojna (Gramin)
Distt Disaster Management Officer, Nagpur 2562668
  • Organizational Setup of the district
Sr. No Name of the Sub- Division Talukas in Sub Division No. of villages in talukas No. of circles in Talukas No. of sazas
1 Nagpur Nagpur City 54 3 19
2 Nagpur Rural Nagpur Rural 161 6 33
Hingna 156 6 33
3 Mouda Mouda 124 6 33
Kamptee 78 4 24
4 Katol Katol 189 6 37
Narkhed 155 6 38
5 Saoner Saoner 136 5 32
Kalmeshwar 108 4 26
6 Ramtek Ramtek 157 4 26
Parshivani 120 4 26
7 Umred Umred 192 6 36
Bhiwapur 137 4 26
Kuhi 186 6 37
7 14 1953 70 426